Joseph R. Olefirowicz - conductor - Proscenium Artist's Management

prosceniumArtist's Management GmbH

JOSEPH R. OLEFIROWICZ - Dirigent

Joseph R. Olefirowicz

JOSEPH R. OLEFIROWICZ – was born 1972, in Methuen, Massachusetts, near Boston. After his studies at Ithaca College, New York, he came to Europe in 1994 on the European Tour of Bernstein’s On the Town. His first engagement as a conductor in Germany followed, at the Capitol Theater in Düsseldorf, where he worked as Associate Music Director. Shortly after his 1995 debut with the Oswego Opera Theatre in New York where he led productions of Menotti’s Medium and Schuman’s The Mighty Casey, he was appointed Music Director of the Bochum (Germany) production of Starlight Express. He progressed onto commercial musical theatres in Stuttgart and Berlin, and conducted the original productions of Miss Saigon, Disney’s The Hunchback of Notre Dame and as guest for Disney’s Beauty and the Beast.

He worked in Budapest and London as Music and Choral Supervisor for the NBC/Hallmark production of Menken & Ahrens’ A Christmas Carol, and was presented an Emmy Craft Citation from the Academy of Television Arts and Sciences in Los Angeles for his contributions to this film.

In 2003, he made his European opera podium debut with Cherubini’s Lodoïska at the Nordhausen Opera, where he then developed a broad repertory of Opera, Operetta, Musical Theatre, Ballet and Symphonic literature, as First Kapellmeister.

His repertory encompasses a broad stroke from all facets of theatrical and concert literature, including: Aida, Der Freischütz, Madama Butterfly, Die Lustigen Weiber von Windsor, Tosca, Die Zauberflöte; La Belle Hélène, Frau Luna, Land des Lächelns; Anything Goes, Chess, A Chorus Line, West Side Story, Jesus Christ Superstar; Coppelia, and Ein Sommernachtstraum.

In addition, Olefirowicz is an international concert organist in demand and since ten seasons, is the Artistic Director of First Music Concert Series and Director of Church Music for The First Church of Nashua (New Hampshire.) – The large choral and music program under his leadership, has been recognized twice by New Hampshire Magazine, as Best of New Hampshire 2012 & 2017.

At the Vienna Volksopera, a long-standing relationship has brought him into his eleventh season as guest conductor. The revival of Fiddler on the Roof (Anatevka) in 2008 was his Viennese debut, and then followed premieres of Guys and Dolls, Abrahams Jazz-Operetta Die Blume von Hawaii, Bernsteins Candide (where became the world-reknown Internet sensation, the "Dancing Conductor"), in addition to the 2015 Austrian Musiktheater Preis award winning production of Sondheims Sweeney Todd, and the critically-acclaimed concert production of Kismet (Wright & Hall / Borodin), additional premieres of How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying, Rodgers and Hammerstein’s Carousel, and repertory performances of Lehar’s Die lustige Witwe.

Symphonic appearances include concerts at the Munich Philharmonic, the State Opera Unter den Linden in Berlin, Leipzig Opera, and Springfield Symphony Hall (USA), with orchestras including the Munich Symphony, Springfield Symphony Orchestra, Symphony New Hampshire, Orchestra of the Musikalischen Komödie Leipzig, the Loh-Orchestra Sondershauen, German Film Orchestra, and the Lower Saxony State Orchestra of Hannover.

Most recently, he conducted his second premiere production with the Hannover State Opera in Germany, with the 2017 acclaimed new production of Bernstein’s West Side Story.

Download CV

DE EN FR

more Information:

mycast

 

Request

Joseph R. Olefirowicz - Dirigent - Proscenium Artist's Management

prosceniumArtist's Management GmbH

JOSEPH R. OLEFIROWICZ - Dirigent

Joseph R. Olefirowicz

Wurde 1972 in Methuen, Massachusetts, in der Nähe von Boston, geboren. Nach seinem Studium am Ithaca College, New York, kam er 1994 als Orchestermitglied der Europa-Tournee von Bernsteins "On the Town" nach Europa. Sein erstes Engagement als Dirigent in Deutschland erhielt er am Capitol Theater Düsseldorf, wo er als stellvertretender musikalischer Leiter wirkte. Kurz nach seinem Debut 1995, wo er am Oswego Operntheater in New York Menottis Medium und Schumans The Mighty Casey leitete, wurde er als Musikdirektor der Bochumer Produktion von Starlight Express bestellt. In der Folge war er Musikdirektor der kommerziellen Musicalbühnen in Stuttgart und Berlin und leitete dort die Originalproduktionen von Miss Saigon, Disney’s Der Glöckner von Notre Dame und als Gast Disney’s Die Schöne und das Biest.

Für die NBC/Hallmark Produktion von Menken & Ahrens A Christmas Carol arbeitete er in Budapest und London als Music and Choral Supervisor, und erhielt für diese Tätigkeit einen Emmy Craft Citation von der Academy of Television Arts and Sciences in Los Angeles.

2003 folgte sein Europadebut als Operndirigent mit Cherubinis Lodoïska in Nordhausen, wo er in der Folge ein breites Repertoire an Opern, Operetten, Musicals, Balletten und Konzertliteratur als Erster Kapellmeister leitete.

Sein aktuelles Repertoire umfasst ein weites Feld aus allen Bereichen des Musiktheaters und Konzertfachs, wie zum Beispiel Aida, Der Freischütz, Madama Butterfly, Die Lustigen Weiber von Windsor, Tosca, Die Zauberflöte; La Belle Hélène, Frau Luna, Land des Lächelns; Anything Goes, Chess, A Chorus Line, Gypsy, Jesus Christ Superstar; Coppelia, und Ein Sommernachtstraum.

Joseph R. Olefirowicz ist zudem ein international gefragter Konzertorganist und fungiert seit neun Jahren Künstlerischer Leiter der First Music Concert Series und Leiter der Kirchenmusik der First Church of Nashua (New Hampshire). Mit dem dort von ihm geleiteten grossen Chor- und Musikprogramm wurde er vom New Hampshire Magazine als Best of NH 2012 ausgezeichnet für klassische Musik.

An die Wiener Volksoper bindet ihn eine langjährige Zusammenarbeit, er ist dort bereits die elfte Saison als Gastdirigent tätig. Die Wiederaufnahme von Anatevka 2008 war sein erster Wiener Auftritt, dem folgten Premieren von Guys and Dolls, Abrahams Jazz-Operette Die Blume von Hawaii, Bernsteins Candide (wo er als Internet- Sensation weltweit anerkannt wurde als der "Dancing Conductor") ebenso wie die 2015 mit dem Österreichischen Musiktheaterpreis ausgezeichnete Produktion von Sondheims Sweeney Todd, die von Kritikern hoch gelobte Konzertfassung von Kismet (Wright & Hall / Borodin), sowie Vorstellungen von Lehars Die lustige Witwe.

Auf der Konzertbühne war er unter anderem in der Münchner Philharmonie, der Deutschen Staatsoper Berlin, der Oper Leipzig und in der Springfield Symphony Hall (USA) zu erleben. Dabei hat er Orchester wie die Münchner Symphoniker, das Springfield Symphony Orchestra, das Staatsorchester Braunschweig, das Orchester der Musikalischen Komödie Leipzig, das Loh-Orchester Sondershausen und das Deutsche Filmorchester geleitet. Demnächst erwarten ihn Debuts mit dem Niedersächsischen Staatsorchester Hannover (Neujahrskonzert 2018) und dem Moskauer Russischen Nationalorchester.

In der Saison 2017/18, leitet Olefirowicz die Premieren von Bersteins West Side Story an der Staatsoper Hannover und Rodgers Carousel an der Volksoper Wien.

Download CV

DE EN FR

more Information:

mycast

 

Anfrage